Blog away! Your topics, your discussions, your forum!

saleena shibly :)
10/5/2008 06:27:33 am

Hello Mrs. Smedley :) I just wanted to say that you are doing a fantastic job teaching us this year. I feel I've gained so much knowledge already and I love how you incorporate games with the lessons. It really gives a better understanding. I also love the blogging because its a great way for every one to get their ideas out there and for everyone to see :) i love this class :D

Reply
connor mendez
10/5/2008 10:18:04 am

hi Mrs. smedley, you are doing a good job at teaching us all that you know. i still cant wait for the music part of the class because thats my favorite thing to do. I also like the idea of blogging, because it lets kids brainstorm with their ideas and and share their comments and it gets us interactive within our own house which is good!!

Reply
OMG it's Bebe !
10/5/2008 02:53:46 pm

Hi :D i love how in class we're very hands on instead of just listening and taking gazillion notes. It feels like we're actually starting a real business or something. I think you make the class entertaining and fun in the class. It's like a social/business zone. You totally earn mega brownie points with me.

Reply
Karissa Russ
10/6/2008 02:05:49 pm

Mrs. Smedley, me along with everyone else absolutely love your class, it's fun, yet we learn so much. I’d have to say I look forward to your classes the most. I have a lot of respect for you when you told us that you give 100% and devote it all to us, that you don’t even eat lunch most of the time. :) it shows a lot of dedication. and you sure know how to make things fun, and communicate, your hip, and not uptight, which is nice. your doing a amazing job, KEEP IT UP! i told you i had blogs but never got chips , hehee. it's alll goood :D

- karissaaaaaaaaa!

Reply
Jennifer
10/9/2008 10:45:38 am

Your class is such a fullfilling experience that has tought me alot and its only been less that two months! I have learned that my peers are practically my family in school and i just love how in you class i feel like were all a family and i am sure that each and every student of yours feels the same. i dont feel like its just plain ol' school i feel like it actually worth my time and dedication for. that why everyday when i get up i say, YES! SCHOOLS TODAY!

Reply
Jennifer
10/9/2008 10:47:06 am

OMG i just noticed that every one looks forward to your class! omg....because your the best!

Reply
Jennifer
10/9/2008 10:50:36 am

Yeah and Miss I just wanted to tell you that i eternally appriciate that you would actually care about us because most teachers dont, they just give us a book and paper and say wrtie and you actually went to a meeting and did something about it. im not embarassed to say im seriously failing in math, but im pretty sure he doesnt care, he just says do the work. I absolutley appreciate wat you have done I will look forward to go to the math tutoring alot. And I hope that you know we love you!

Reply
jennifer
10/9/2008 10:54:28 am

well all miss u tomoroww!

Reply
Joy -Harajuku Epic
10/10/2008 07:39:19 am

Mrs. Smedley you are so epic win! I swear, you are like my fave teacher at this entire freaking school.

Not saying that my other teachers aren't epic too, you're just more epic than they are X3

Like Cruz said, your class is the only class I look forward to on A day.

Business is so much fun (something i never thought I'd say XDDD)! I love coming to that class!

I mean, seriously, I'm learning how to brand my band (lol, rhyme XD) and one of my band mates, now that we know what to do, actually wants to start creating our website and seriously buying our name and all that! Are you kidding?! Freaking sick!

Haha

But really, I would never had known the difference between TM, Registered, and Copyright without your class and you're awesome teaching!

You care so much about all of your students and you always look our for us, and that's a quality most teachers don't have, but then again you aren't most teachers!

Keep up the great, no, AMAZING work, Mrs. Smedley!

~Joy~~

Reply
Cruz ya digg??
10/10/2008 07:40:51 am

Hey there Mrs. Smedley..


man where to start..
I LOVE YOUR CLASS!!!

man its the only thing i look towards on A DAY

but your clas is da bomb like tick tick

haha

i love how involved you get w/ us and how your always worried bout how we're doing on other classes and not just in yours..


i could go on and on about how great of a teacher you are, and how fun your class is..
BUT..
im tired so yeah..


well keep up the great work..
man if i was your boss i'd give you a raise..haha

like you said..
you give us 100% and you expect the same from us..
well i always try to give you that extra 150%


well im outz..


OH AND PLEASE LET ME STAY W/ THINK INC.


THINK INC ALL DAY EVERYDAY!!!

Reply
Kristina
10/13/2008 10:30:55 pm

Kristina Arzaga













My Birth


Well there she was , my mother. It was August 3 , 1993 and she was just staring at me sleeping in her arms. She looks at the clock and it was 3:02 p.m. Her new daughter had just been born. She was for real the little girl with big eyes and big cheeks was real.


When they asked her for the name of her new daughter she said “Kristina.” She had chosen this special name for her daughter because it meant a lot to her husband and my new dad. It meant a lot for him because he used to have a little sister that died at the age four thanks to cancer. When she left the hospital with me in her arms we passed by a jewelry store and she went inside to by a bracelet with my name on it.


As soon as she got home she laid me down in my new crib in my new room. She just sat down in the rocking chair next to my crib and watched my sleep all day. So that’s how a new baby was born in Houston , Texas on August 3 , 1993.







My Family


Well my family is very different . None of my brothers and sisters look like each other. My oldest sister of twenty- five is tall and pretty. She has two daughters and is working at a hotel. She’s a pretty cool sister and knows how to have fun. My brother of twenty is short and chubby. He works in the same hotel as my older sister. He is mean, stuck up, and bossy.


My other sister of 16 is sort of tall, skinny, and the darkest of the group. She can be cool sometimes but sometimes she can be mean and annoying. Now it’s my turn. Well I am practically small in every way and I am 15. I can be cool to my sisters and brothers as long as they don’t bother me. Last but not least is my little sister. She is eleven and annoying. All she does is ask questions all day and retarded ones at that. She doesn’t do chores and yet gets everything she wants.
We are a proud Hispanic family that owns a Siberian husky.







Early stages in Life


The early stages in my life were pretty wild. When I was two years old I fell off of a couch arm rest. I should of listened to my uncle when he told me not to play on them because I would fall off of them. I got a big cut on my head because I fell on tile so I was rushed to the hospital. At the age of five I had learned how to ride a horse and by the age of six I owned my own horse. As soon as I got my new horse I climbed on it and my brother tagged along. My brother had told me to go fast so I kicked it really hard and it went crazy. He ended upon the floor and I ended up caught in between the reigns. My dad never let me ride a horse with someone else on it so I wouldn’t hurt anyone else.
I was such a stubborn, weird, and crazy kid. Well I still am most of the time now. I used to play wrestling with all the boys, play soccer with them, and racing cars. My grandparents would always tell me I would get hurt if I kept playing rough with the boys, but me being the stubborn person that I am I didn’t listen so I just kept getting hurt. I would get cuts, bruises, scrapes on my face, arms, and knees. I still had the best childhood of my life.

Later Years


After being six years old my life started getting hard. I would always get in trouble at school and at home with my parents. In sixth grade I had to move away from a middle school I really liked and over to place I didn’t know. In seventh grade I started failing most of my classes because I hated going to a school that I didn’t know anybody in. Eighth grade I lost the love of my life (at least I thought he was) to my best friend.


Freshman year is the worst year probably so far. I was getting kicked out of most of my classes and getting dress code almost every day. That same year I got in a fight with this girl and I got arrested, suspended, and sent to court for it. I now have battery charges on my record until I graduate. After I took my mandatory anger management classes a very dear friend died on April 15 , 2008. His name is Carlos (may he rest in peace) and on the day of his funeral I had to stay home because my parents wouldn’t let me go. This year is going pretty good so far except for the fact that another close friend died. Her name was Justina (may she rest in peace). She was 15 and she died on

Reply
Diego Lopez
10/15/2008 03:55:10 am

thanks for the presentation that you gathered up on tuesday

Reply
Norma Sanchez
10/15/2008 04:33:33 am

Mrs. Smedley i just want to say that you are doing a great job. I love your class. Everyday i wake up i am so excited to go to school, especially to your class. Since it is my last year here at ECTA and in the country, i just want to say that by the time i leave I know i will have learned many things. Thank you so much right now for everything you have done so far, and just know that I will always thank you. I want to become a great music producer and through obtaining a good education here i know i will reach that goal. Thank you so much again.

Reply
mireya
10/16/2008 09:21:04 am

ms. Smedley thank you so much forr being the best teacher ever:]!!!!!!!

Reply
jazminC xD
10/17/2008 04:41:58 am

HEy:D

Ms. Smedley,

im really looking forward on going to the Skills USA filed Trip!!! :D

Its going to be so much fun..

IM hoping to gain more leadership skills..

I cant wait!!!! :)

&& i hope its not that cold..

but i love the snow so it all good! hehe..

Reply
Jenny
10/18/2008 06:41:27 am

cant wait for the trip!

Reply
jennifer
10/25/2008 12:26:41 pm

OMG the trip was fawesome! i had super fun and did meet lots of peeps from secta and other random school. hotels were sweet, dance/social was pretty bumpin but not for me. classes were fine. time was not cool, skills usa was fab though, super organized, professional. not reccomened for the people who are scared of bears! i heard there are bears out at night, haha. great experience. i hope no one took pics of me sleeping. hehe, thanks to ecta this could happen. lets give a round of applause, (but from you computer) hope we do this again, i really didnt know things about people such as keenen had gone to disney world, pretty sweet. and such more thing. had a great time meeting people actually from ecta that i didnt know. crystal, or mrs.smedley, or the business teacher. i call her mrs.smedley was thie nicest and so was ms.key. loved it! hope we discuss in class.

Reply
Kakakakaelyn.
10/25/2008 04:48:21 pm

Hearts & kisses!

Reply
jennifer
10/26/2008 11:48:37 am

everyone, do you think that i look older that i am because im 14 and everyone says i look 16/17. i guess.

Reply
Jennifer Ruiz
11/19/2008 04:24:54 am

Mrs. Smedley, I feel like PBL is such a effective, great, and contributing way of teaching. When I first came to the mountian I was peasented to PBL, and didnt think much of it, but now I am so happy that we have PBL as another way of learning because it involves communication, freedom of creativity, and fun. I want to thank our principal, Mrs.Goetting for introducing PBL to our amazing academy. I also want to thank Mrs.Smeddley for having such positive support torwards PBL! Thanks to all our teachers who are involved in PBL, we love you! PBL has showed me to communicate and NOT be scared of presenting/selling something. Again, Thank You Mrs.Smedley.

Reply
king arthur
11/20/2008 03:33:32 am

i have come to spea to you king about the quest of the holy grail

Reply
Frenchman
11/20/2008 03:35:20 am

Your mother was a hamster and your father smelled of elder berries! Now go away or I will taunt you a second time!!!

Reply
King Arthur
11/20/2008 03:35:47 am

but please i must speak to your king!

Reply
Falisha Altares
11/20/2008 03:36:00 am

On PBL!

PBL is an amzing idea. It has helped students learn, focus their strengths to help and participate, learn responsibility and encourages creativity. We as students strive to do the best for our peers, as we don't wish to let them down.

however, i feel that we students are slightly overwhelmed. The students are collaborating, and working together, but why aren't the teachers. We understand it's hard. And that you have certain lesson plans that you have to follow, but we'd like to see it happen. Teachers are placing a lot of pressure on students through the project program by all having projects at the same time, same dead line time line, and same working days. The pressure is very stressful, but we do see the direction the school is trying to go in, and we DO encourage the PBL program.

Reply
Blaze
11/20/2008 03:39:25 am

We learn social skills through teamwork and collaboration.

Reply
Norma
11/22/2008 04:38:00 am

Hey everyone I just want to say that I love this school Mrs. Smedley you are the best.

I really enjoy working with everyone and getting to know many students. I am really impressed with the great ideas and creativity that my peers have. You are all amazing. House 2 is the best.

I really respect the other two houses and the students in those houses. Just like us, they are doing a great job. The whole school is doing good. Like i mentioned on PBL, it is an effective way of learning, but there is too much pressure upon us.

Anyways

Mrs. Smedley I just want to tell you that you are doing such a good job. Thank you.

to all of the students at ECTA keep up the good work. Lets make sure that we make this school the best of the region and maybe even the best of the city. We can all work together to learn and have fun at the same time. I am really shy, not exactly shy, but more of a serious person.

I like to be responsible and work really hard, but I really enjoy working with all of the students here at ECTA. They are so amazing. You all are great. Thank you all for putting a little of fun into this school.

Since this is my last year here at this school and basically in the city, I am really looking forward to working with everyone. I would really like to get to know every student. I think that will help me be more outgoing, so that when I leave to Mexico I have more experience talking to different people.

To my friends: I know that you all do not want me to leave, but I really want to leave. You all know that I have lived here all my life, and I have never been to Mexico, but I really like this idea. Over there, my uncle has the idea of putting a radio station or a television program. I will be part of this. So that is why I came to ECTA for my last year to have some experience with the business industry, and I really love it. So if you read this blog just tell me your opinion, and tell me if you guys still do not want me to leave.

To all others, this radio station or television program i mentioned above is very important to me. The program will be called "FUTBOL MUSICAL" or Musical soccer in english. the name might changed depending on different ideas we might get.

It will basically be about soccer and music. I know some guys here at school love soccer. Not only guys, but there are some girls that also like soccer. I personally love soccer. I play since I was 3 years old, and I am a huge fan of some teams that I will mention below, but I won't say which ones. That's my personal thing. So if you like soccer and music, I think that you should stay tuned to this idea. The whole idea is about having interviews with soccer players, talking about different games, leagues, and championships, and inviting over music artists and bands. Now, this won't just be based on the Mexican league, and we won't just talk about all the Mexican teams like Chivas, America, Cruz Azul, Pumas, Morelia, Tecos, etc. It will be kind of a world wide thing. So we will talk about soccer from Spain, Argentina, England, Brazil, Chile, etc.

We will talk about teams like Manchester United, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Liverpool, River Plate, Barcelona, etc. also about international championships and leagues. My uncle has plans to interview famous soccer players. About the music, that will also be a worldwide thing. There will be many artists invited from different parts of the world, and of different music genres. there will be rock, hip-hop, pop, reggeaton, chunty, etc. the artists will also be interviewed. Some artists that my uncle plans to invite are Mana, Wisin y Yandel, Flex, Eddy Lover, Tokio Hotel, Chris Brown, the Jonas Brothers, Katy Perry, David Bisbal, Kudai, Banda el Recodo, and many more. This is why I suggested to do different events in the quad.

He is a diplomat in Queretaro, Mexico, and his daughters are also studying marketing. I guess this will be a family thing. So if anyone has more ideas about this program I will be happy to hear them, I would really like some comments about this, because it will determine on whether I stay or not. If I receive more great ideas I will be glad to include them in the project and give you all credit for those ideas. If you know me you can personally tell them to me, reply to this blog, or email me through interact.

I just want to say that if this program does happen, I will thank ECTA for everthing that I learn. I will thank all the students for helping me be more socialized and giving me the opportunity to work with them. I can already say that I will miss the school, the teachers, the students, and the whole staff. I will miss everything and everyone in the school. I just wanted to tell everyone that already knows I am leaving, why I'm leaving. Like I said I really want to do this and it will be a good oppportunity for me.

If anyone has questions, ideas or comments about this big family project j

Reply
11/23/2008 04:49:13 am

i thought it was pretty sych (cool) that we got blaze to say "We learn social skills through teamwork and collaboration" i though, wow look what PBL has done to our class. I think that we are such great people in many ways and that we are America's future leader and you guys are just the best. and wow i was just wow'ed. (if thats a word)

Reply
Baylie Betz
1/22/2009 03:03:56 pm

Wow Guys, Your all doing an awsome job. And I just want you all to know that I'm withdrawing from East Tech and I love all of you. I've been in the Hospital and in and out of the doctors this month so you havn't seen much of me since before break, and not much of me then either.

But I hope you all have fun and learn a lot and I had some stellar teachers, especialy You Mrs.Smedley! I'm going to miss all of you but I just need to go back to Chaparral.

So earn those HTM points and get out and be someone, and not just anyone.

BE A TITAN!

Reply
7/25/2020 10:31:52 am

This is really informative blog for students, keep up the good work.

Reply
7/27/2020 02:33:12 am

This is a very useful post, I was looking for this info. thanks for sharing the great ideas...

Reply
7/29/2020 02:24:42 am

I have found so many interesting thing in your blog and I really love that. Keep up the good work!

Reply



Leave a Reply.


East Career & Technical Academy