If a member of our house is struggling or failing a class what can you do to assist your fellow classmates? As educators, how can teachers help you succeed?

Cruz
10/1/2008 02:18:36 pm

well i think we can just help each other out individually..

especially here at this school where they have the "fish bowl"

and the study hall things..

but definately if we're struggling..
we should come together as a school and jus help each other out.. teachers are doin a great job but they should jus take their time for the students to fully get what they're being taught..


if anybody wants to help me..

i would appreciate it because i'm failing algebra..

Reply
mireya
10/2/2008 01:01:16 am

i think that we can help each other
but i aso think that its a good idea if we had a guidance class

a guidance class is a period that help you in classes your failing and a class period that helps you do and understand your homework it is also for students that can't stay after school and do there makeup work. it is a period to help you catch up on things you don't get.

Reply
Bridgette
10/2/2008 01:09:10 am

I think we should have a guidance period where its like a study hall where we do work and get help with the stuff we don't understand.
Students should try just to help one another out and mabey stay afterschool for extra help so you wont fail:D!

Reply
mark
10/2/2008 01:12:45 am

the fish bowls would be a good place to have study groups after school where the students are basicaly teachers after school for about an hour to an hour and a half and then the students will be able to relate to how the people that are learning feel because they most likely just learned the new concepts of the class

Reply
Suesun
10/2/2008 01:19:32 am

I like the having a guidance/study hall idea, beacause some students can't stay after school cause of transportation, if they have other things to do or just can't. Having a guidance class will be soo much more easier than actually staying after school. Its actually happening in school and I know for suure it will help many students out. It will especially help mee!

Teachers should make the class more fun and exciting with educational activities with some spice.

Reply
Sean
10/2/2008 01:24:56 am

I would agree Suesun on the transportation issue. I can't really afford to stay until 330 most of the time. I do have a life outside of school and yes I will admit that the extra help would be very useful but i honestly think that the teachers should make the class as a whole more fun and make us want to go to the class with an open mind and ready to learn. Not saying that the teachers aren't trying as hard as possible to help us learn but they could always try a little bit harder. Thats just my opinion on the matter.

Reply
Marvin
10/2/2008 03:36:27 am

you could always pull them aside, out side the class that they are struggling in and have a heart to heart talk and find out what it is they aren't getting, after that you do what you can to help them get there grade up
..
what teachers can do to help us understand the work is explain everything again and agian

Reply
123
10/2/2008 03:41:22 am

We dont have a tutor group, or also known as national junior honor society. and what they do is help kids or tutor them to succeeed in there subject.
Teachers dont always get the subject or point across right, cause they teach it word for word from the book and sometimes its so much easyier to just simplify it for the kids.
Ill write more later when i find what i know what im talk ing about haah

Reply
Pedro Arias
10/2/2008 03:45:50 am

Like we should have a couple of mins to talk to are friends bout the things we dont know how to and ask for help we should also do assingments 1 by 1 i dont like to go home having to know alot of materials and one day itgets me in presssure and i do bad in tests just having time to actually learn the subject

Reply
Jazmin C :D
10/2/2008 03:52:14 am

i think...


That people how aren't getting the subject should get the phone numbers of the people that are doing good in that subject..


So that way.. they can talk over the phone and talk about that subject and go over what the other people does not understand.

:D
totally!

Reply
Thania<3
10/2/2008 04:02:20 am

I think that another good idea would be if the teacher divide their students in the classroom......they should put the students that understand on one side and the others on the other side this way the teacher knows who needs help and Help them! ;D

Reply
Joe Valdemar (Unknown Pinoy)
10/2/2008 04:08:05 am

im doing good at everything. Im comfortable talking to teachers, im good at Math, and i can help.

So, if you need someone to talk to a teacher, come to me and i'll try and talk to the teacher to fix your problem.

If you need help in the mathmatics area, like Algebra 1, Geometry, or Algebra 2, come talk to me and i'll try and help you in the areas you don't understand. Math is my best subject.

Reply
dejanai camacho
10/2/2008 04:21:16 am

okay like we've always had ALOT of work and its really hard and we dont have enough time i feel if i had like a tutor who was a peer that would help me out because i do my work but when i get low scores i get discouraged and like why try if im still going to get low scores on my work. and it would really help if we got homework not right when the bell rang so we could go through what were supposed to do and not have to struggle. so i think it would help if we got broken up into groups during class so people who understand could help the others who are having trouble, so yeah like i know this would help me because alot of times it just depends on whos explaining things to me and im sure that would help lots of us. :^)

Reply
Karissa Russ
10/2/2008 05:50:57 am

personally, i think students can not blame everything on our teachers. but i think that some kids should try to talk to they're teachers to see how well they're teachers react. I understand that if teachers didnt want to be here, they wouldnt be. and i dont think many stuents realize how privledged we are to be here, and have teachers who want t teach here. some teachers in ceratin subjects such as math, should have some more group work. because i know that sometimes i dont understand all the things a teacher explains to me. but if sometimes a student explains to me, i might understand it better. that just means that students need to communicate with other peers, and TEACHERS. teachers or any one in general doesnt generally know what they are doing wrong until they are told so. so i believe that if you need help, and dont have time, or other prioraties, everyone just needs to tell a teacher that they dont understand, im sure your not the only one. and i know as a peer, if i understand, i am willing to help anyone. just ask questions and communicate with people, it goes a long way.

Reply
Jesse
10/2/2008 06:12:16 am

I dont know if it's just me but, some teachers make us do a lot of notes and maybe a few exaples but they just give u work and expect you to perfectly comprehend it. I dont think it's going to hurt the teachers if they put in a little more time to help some students that really need help.

Reply
Matt Tufele
10/2/2008 06:16:17 am

the teachers need to learn how to slow down and actually explain their work cause i can name about to teachers that do not explain any thing they give out and if they do explain it they go to fast. Thats my opinion

Reply
Baylie
10/2/2008 06:21:46 am

I think that its just a lack of communication between student and teacher. I mean, if your afraid to talk to the teacher just take a friend and go confront them for the back up. Be brave. We have battle buddies in one of my classes that we can talk to if we have a problem. So it kinda helps when taking notes. or when im doing homework or reveiwing, because, chances are if I dont know then, they will. And some teachers are wiling to stay during lunch. Maybe that could be a solution.

Reply
Falisha p7
10/2/2008 06:23:21 am

I believe we should be able to explain to our teachers that we don't understand, and ask them to slow down and explain.

i also think they shouldn't make there exoectations until they meet us, and teach our classes, as some of their expectations are too high.

Reply
OMG it's Bebe !
10/2/2008 10:02:04 am

i think that most of us have some kind of procastinating issues, like we would blow our work off and do other stuff that distracts us then we might end up doing it last minute .. i know im still trying to stop that :D

sometimes when teachers explains something to us but we still dont comprehend to what they are saying and we say "i dont get it" then they get mad and say "i just explained it !!!" and they dont repeat it, they shouldnt do that because it's NOT going to help us

i can help people with algebra 2 :D
just ask mee

Reply
Imani
10/2/2008 11:28:14 am

i agree we should help eacthother with subjects were struggling with like im good with english but not with math , and if i can help someone with english and then they can help me with math . Its always good have a helping hand!!!

Reply
valeria blasquez
10/2/2008 12:33:50 pm

I think the whole tutoring idea and extra time to review material in class is what most kids need. Especially when it comes to test time, since we have block schedules and we have the class every other day,kids forget what we learned in the previous class. It would also help if we played more review games before a test,when we have fun learning we remember things better. I also like the whole fish bowl idea and our peer helping out.

Reply
kriza
10/2/2008 12:38:41 pm

i agree with a lot of people that it helps to learn from other students. get the numbers of people that get it or work together during lunch or something. i know that some teachers are more than happy to give up their lunch time to help us out. i suggest something like a tutor club. also i think we should all take advantage of the block schedule and not procastinate - cause i do that too. if you don't get something, ask for help before you have to turn an assignment in.

but yeah. im more than happy to help anyone out. -math my best subject ;pp

Reply
Valeria Blasquez
10/2/2008 12:53:05 pm

I agree with the whole tutor idea.
I think we should get extra time to review materials in class. Since we have block schedule and have classes every other day we tend to forget what we learned in the previous class. We could go in the fish bowl and get one on one help.

Reply
Jesus
10/2/2008 03:35:45 pm

well I think that some teachers dont explain stuff right and some times students are scared of asking questions when there should be no reason to.
I mean arent teachers suppose to help you not intimidate u
so if u have problems in any class just ask more questions and see or try to understand and if u dont understand then "ask" if they could teach it again because u didnt get it.
and if one person doesnt get it, at least one other person doesnt eather.
also one on one time is too short in classes that are big, so i think that might be another issue.

Reply
Jennifer
10/3/2008 01:05:10 am

I loved Marks idea.

Reply
Arlene
10/3/2008 08:44:32 am

The only class im having trouble is albebra and i think a good solution for that would be a little more time in class to actually sit and get help from peers around us that actually do understand the concept not just 3 minutes before the bell to work on our homework not just a whole hour and 20 minutes on just notes after notes then quiz then a text that is just not helping us well at least its not helping me

Reply
Jennifer
10/3/2008 12:46:37 pm

Personally I am struggling in not understanding the math concepts and would like some people to help me out. It would be nice if we got a group/club after school from like 1:30 to 3:00 or 3:30 so we can have time to study and then we dont have to worry about waiting for the bus. It would be nice if someone would help me out because I dont see myself in the same route, I just would like if a group of students would get together to help eachother.

Reply
Jasmyn
10/3/2008 03:29:24 pm

I personally think that if we had more group work in math and make sure everyone understands it before the class is over then everything would be good ;) I just think in some classes things aren't getting explained completely and it's going way too fast. I get myself caught up in all my work and it's really hard for me. But yaaa, working with peers seems like a brilliant idea, that makes me seem to understand things a lot better and I feel so much more comfortable.

Reply
Alexis. K
10/3/2008 04:21:37 pm

Half the problem is students. Half the problem is teachers.

We can't blame the teachers 100%, because we don't get the work. I know a selected few teachers may need some advice to work with the students, but it's also the students fault. We should ask more questions, regardless of the teachers attitude. Just because we're too scared to ask, and don't get the work, doesn't mean we can just blow off the whole thing. That's the kids excuses. It's not entirely our fault though. Some teachers should lighten up a bit. Maybe slow down as well?

There should be a after school thing where kids can go get help in what they need.

Some teachers need more activites, instead of notes, work, quiz, notes, ect. Maybe group related. Something fun ?

Some students need to stop making excuses for not doing their work, because their too scared to ask the teacher of help. Because we all know, most of you arn't scared.

Reply
Patrick (Only Half Asian)
10/4/2008 03:55:31 am

All I can say is that you have to talk to your teachers... If your afraid to then get someone who isn't. And if you don't do your homework that's just your fault.

Reply
shauntOvia luckie
10/4/2008 06:01:41 pm

I think that if a student is failing he or she should come after school for help. Because in my classes I am a little bit afraid to ask questions because when I do that teacher kind of makes me feel stupid and I think that's how a lot of students feel they don't want to feel weird for asking a question they didn't know and then getting snapped at. I also think that since we have classwork that the teacher should give us more time, and if we have homework the teacher should explain it in a way that every student in the class can get it not just a few. If we have like five mins we could stay and ask the teachers the stuff we don't get, but if you are just a bad student and don't do your homework that's on you because other people want to learn

Reply
saleena
10/5/2008 06:23:54 am

I think students should get together and help eachother out. dont be afraid to ask some one for help. if some one is struggling in class and you see them, offer some help. pretty soon they are starting tutoring after school and you can get help with anything you need so that might be great help. i know im doing bad in algebra and my teacher just suggested coming in after school and it is helping me.

Reply
rey
10/5/2008 10:21:36 am

i really think the reason a lot of us are failing ap history is because we haven't even gotten books for that class yet.

a lack of resources in that class means we have less to study off of which means we're less prepared.

Reply
Graciela
10/6/2008 12:57:57 am

I think that i can help my peers by helping them in work they don't understand. Also we should have a homework club, where students can go and get help and at the same time meet new people and start working together to get problems solved faster. Teachers should also review things a little more for the acknowledgement of students and how students seem to forget stuffs during weekends. Students show show their concerns and get help!

Reply
Joy -Oh snaps-
10/6/2008 07:39:11 am

:/

Yeah, I think that having a guidance study/study hall type of thing would be good. I seem to learn more and better when I'm interacting with my peers.

And i could seriously use this, like, asap. Because I'm failing geometry and chemistry (either that or I have a low D in both, but one way or another its bad.). Its weird, when I don't do well in class I feel so stupid, and I hate that. When I ask for help my teachers can try to explain it to me and at first I think I understand it, but in the end I really don't. I just sort of feel like giving up.

There will be times when I try to study and try to give myself a better understanding of whatever it is I'm doing, but what good is that going to do me if I still don't get it? And for some unknown reason I feel like I work better with peers, because usually they take the time to understand and help me because they kind of get what I'm going through, while teachers, on the other hand, seem to get frustrated with me.

Anyway, yeah, i think some kind of peer study, or some period of time where everyone gets together with teachers and tutors and everyone teams up with the people that have no idea what they're doing and try to help them would be best.

Thing is, for me, I'm not always at school early enough to be able to ask teachers for help, and I rarely ever can stay after school.

But if anyone wants to try to help me in geometry and chemistry, come find me, ask around and try to find me if you need to.

Arigato Gozaimasu! <3

~ Joy

Reply
Cayla Gater
10/7/2008 08:32:26 am

Well I think to help our peers to succeed is by helping that person out on whatever their having problems and just be like a study partner. A lot of people need help on things at one point in time, so by having a study partner can help peers on stuff that even the teachers can help on. So just pair up with someone and hopefully it can help out things a little better.

Reply
mariah :)
10/9/2008 12:31:30 pm

i think the whole school should have a guidance period , like they did at vegas. It will give kids time to finsh work and if they dont understand it they can ask someone like a tutor in the class.

I say we should do that(:

Reply
Norma Sanchez
10/15/2008 04:43:58 am

I just have to say that if anyone needs help with anything, I am available to help them. I am not failing any class and so if anyone needs help just ask me. My strong subject is math, but I can help anyone with any other subject. The whole idea of having groups to study together sounds perfect. I know how much help is needed. I can agree with some of my classmates in the fact that there are some teachers who don't go through a lesson completely. So pairing those students who need help with those who understand a subject is a great opportunity for them to not fail a certain class. My advice for all students who need help is to just pay attention in class, and TRY. I know that it is hard to understand when the teacher doesn't have a good lesson plan, and i know that some of us don't like to ask them questions. Just try to do the work, or get over the fears of talking to that teacher and go up to him/her and tell them that you do not understand that lesson. If it doesn't work, than just wait until the class is over and join a study group. This i would recommend when the teacher doesn't let you talk, and if he/she thinks that you are not paying attention in class. Once again I am willing to help anyone that needs help with any subject.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


East Career & Technical Academy